And the winner is … Northwood High School

Lights, camera, accolades.

Northwood High School students recently earned first-place honors in four separate divisions of a national competition that recognizes excellence in filmmaking, video production and broadcast journalism.

At the 2010 Student Television Network Convention, held March 4-6 in Anaheim, the Timberwolves captured top awards in the categories of “Short Story,” “60 Second Staged and Silent Story,” “High School Music Video” and “All Platform Journalist.”

More than 1,800 students from 150 high schools in 27 states took part in this year’s convention, which featured breakout sessions and pressure-packed contests. Northwood instructor Tina Murphy, who advises the school’s weekly NTV broadcasts, said the students were given eight stressful hours to create one film, from concept to completion, and 10 hours to shoot a quality music video.

“It was unbelievable,” she said. “They were under a lot of pressure.”

Led by Murphy, the Northwood team included Mattan Cohen, Jeff Geukens and Jay Salahi, who were honored in the “Short Story” division; Ariel Amaro, who won for “60 Second Staged and Silent Story”; Rebecca Pacun, Shazib Haq, Andy Cho and Logan Bevan-Hively, who earned first place in the “High School Music Video” category; and Yada Khoongumjorn, who won for “All Platform Journalist.”

The Student Television Network promotes broadcast journalism, filmmaking, video production and media convergence by connecting students and teachers with industry experts, who provide training, tips and critiques.

Update: Northwood’s award-winning entries have been posted online. To watch them, click here.