Irvine Teachers Association announces its annual scholarship recipients

Continuing an annual tradition, the Irvine Teachers Association has announced a handful of scholarship recipients for 2011.

Kristina Pelekoudas of University High School was named the winner of the ITA’s scholarship for “Students Interested in Entering the Education Profession,” which goes to an IUSD senior who has been accepted to a four-year university and plans to pursue a degree in education.

Meanwhile, University’s Chase Ginther and Northwood High School’s Laurel Wroblicky were each named recipients of the Carrie Valderrama Memorial Scholarship, which is annually earned by children of ITA members who have been accepted to four-year universities.

The Irvine Teacher Memorial Scholarship, awarded to IUSD seniors who have been accepted to four-year universities, goes to Andrea Chaikovsky of Irvine High and Madeline Page of Woodbridge High.

Finally, this year’s Venture Scholarship goes to Sharon Syau and Remi Nakagawa, who both attend San Joaquin High School. The Venture Scholarship is annually earned by IUSD seniors or children of ITA members who are interested in continuing their education at a community college or a technical school.

All of the above ITA scholarship recipients are scheduled to be recognized at the May 3 Board of Education meeting.