Parham is elected to a one-year term as school board president; McInerney is named clerk

At its yearly organizational meeting on Tuesday night, the Board of Education voted unanimously to elect Michael Parham to a one-year term as president and Carolyn McInerney to a one-year term as clerk.

Sue Kuwabara, who was president this past year, was honored for her leadership.

The five-member board also approved school site liaison assignments, appointed representatives to various committees and established meeting dates through December 2012. The next two regular meetings are scheduled for Jan. 17 and Feb. 7.

Parham, whose background is in corporate and financial markets, is serving his second term on the board after winning a seat in the 2004 election and running unopposed in 2008.

Having last served as president in 2007, he has been a driving force in the district’s recent efforts to pursue cost effective and sustainable energy sources, working to secure deals that ultimately brought solar power and energy-generating fuel cells to Irvine schools.

To read a full recap of the Dec. 6 board meeting, click here.