Teachers of Promise Announced for 2015-16

TOPToday, in addition to announcing the 2015-16 Teachers of the Year, IUSD announced four “Teachers of Promise.” This annual honor goes to first- or second-year instructors who go above and beyond while demonstrating professional curiosity and an unbridled enthusiasm for teaching.

The 2015-16 Teachers of Promise, as shown above, are Kevin Bui, a social studies teacher at Venado Middle SchoolKatie Miller, a third-grade teacher at Portola Springs Elementary School; Kim Morgan, a special education teacher at Cypress Village Elementary School; and Kristen Motooka, a culinary teacher at Northwood High School.

Kevin was recognized in front of his colleagues during a staff meeting at Venado, while Katie and Kim were surprised during schoolwide assemblies. Kristen was surprised in front of her culinary class at Northwood.  All four will be formally honored in May at the 30th annual Excellence in Teaching Awards Dinner.

Once again, congratulations to this year’s Teachers of the Year and Teachers of Promise.